nycmagnet

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

In Literature on October 3, 2008 at 1:13 pm

I confess I picked this book up because I love elephants. It had nothing to do with any prior knowledge as to what the book is about.  Turns out, it is a clever fictional depiction of old school circus life, told from the perspective of a 93 year old man. Sara Gruen does a fantastic job in research. Working through the book you find yourself reading words such as “grifters” and “roustabouts”.  The book takes you behind the scenes of the mysterious circus life during the great depression of the 1930s.  Water for Elephants is extremely moving and is a great way to get a taste of history through a fictional story.

  1. I thought this would be an interesting book when I read most of the first chapter on amazon’s website. I am always looking for a good book and this one seemed to fit the bill. Unfortunately for me, I love a great story that ISN’T dropping the f-bomb and giving explicit details about sexual encounters. I guess I must be in the wrong generation for that. I keep hearing how great this book is but I just can’t justify wading through the rubbish to get to the heart of this “wonderful” story.

    With movies, you get a rating and usually a word or two as to why it got that rating. Music has some labeling, too. I would have loved to have had some kind of rating on this book before I spent money on it, which for me was a waste since I didn’t finish the book (I tried skimming past the parts I found objectionable, but found that the only ones that didn’t make me squirm were basically the first and last chapters), and I don’t believe in passing alongor selling something I find objectionable. For me, what seemed like a great story was covered up with filth that was absolutley unnecessary and as a result, I will probably not choose to read anything from this particular author again. My mind… my choice.

  2. Holly,

    Thank your for that brilliant idea. From now on when Magnet posts a book review it will have on it a rating of the book’s content. Hopefully you have found that great read you were looking for.

    Cheers,
    Magnet

Leave a Reply

